Lament

By Maggie Stiefvater

FORMATPRICE
Paperback$9.95Add Paperback to cart
Ebook$9.95

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She’s about to find out she’s also a cloverhand—one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass—a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky—and equally dangerous—dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen’s sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren’t so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn’t exactly what she had in mind . . . Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey. FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING NOVEL SHIVER

About the Author

After a tumultuous past as a history major, calligraphy instructor, wedding musician, technical editor, and equestrian artist, Maggie Stiefvater is now a full-time writer and New York Times bestselling author of the Shiver trilogy, The Scorpio Races, and The Raven Boys. Her debut series, the Books of Faerie, is published by Flux. Maggie lives in the middle of nowhere, Virginia, with her charmingly straight-laced husband, two kids, four neurotic dogs, and a 1973 Camaro named Loki. Follow her on Twitter at @mstiefvater, and visit her online at www.maggiestiefvater.com.

  • Paperback ISBN: 9780738713700
  • Ebook ISBN: 9780738722290
  • Reading Age: from 12 to 18 years
  • Interest Age: from 12 to 18 years
  • Paperback dimensions: 5.19 x 8 in
  • Publication date: Oct 08, 2008
  • Rights/Sales territory:
  • Format: Paperback | Ebook
  • Pages: 336
  • Series: A Lament Novel
  • Imprint: Flux
  • Subjects:
    YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
    YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
    YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Paranormal

Reviews of Lament:

"Vibrant and potent, YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this accomplished debut novel." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)


"This beautiful and out-of-the-ordinary debut novel, with its authentic depiction of Celtic Faerie lore and dangerous forbidden love in a contemporary American setting, will appeal to readers of Nancy Werlin's Impossible and Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series." —Booklist (starred review)


"Part adventure, part fantasy, and wholly riveting love story, Lament will delight nearly all audiences with its skillful blend of magic and ordinary life." —KLIATT (starred review)

Related Products

  • Dead Girl Walking

    I am so dead... Now, was I supposed to go left or right at the Light? Seventeen-year-old Amber Borden has a lousy sense of direction—so…

  • Remember This

    Remember this: I love you . . . Lucy Kellogg is looking forward to a great summer: her fearless best friend, Sukie, has talked her…

  • Busted

    I feel like I'm about to pass out, but that won't do much for my new reputation as a non-dork, so I bury my head…

X